TheWordFetish

Like A Rat

Posted on: March 1, 2006

Is this seat taken?
It is? But there is no one here but you
Don’t be frightened by me
Haven’t you seen blood on a person before?

Are you sure I can’t sit down?
The world is spinning again
I can barely keep myself standing
I think I need to lie in.

Where are you going?
Please, stay. It gets lonely sometimes.
And if you remain with me
Just maybe he wouldn’t come over.

Do you want to play a game?
Of truth and dare?
Don’t be alarmed by the gun in my hand.
The one bullet is not for you.

And if you don’t walk away
It wont be for me either.

4 Responses to "Like A Rat"

I really like the dramatic monologue; it is a look, not just at the speaker, but at the listener, too. I take it you are espousing Shaw’s eschewal of apostrophes — as punctuation, not as a form of address.

thank you,
i enjoyed writing this one.

I REALLY like this piece. It makes me think of SO much that goes on in another human being’s mind, SO much that goes on in life.

It makes me feel… Sort of that way… When reading really good poetry such as this.

It’s lovely.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • woodarddelaney1273: Good day! This post could not be written any better!nReading this post reminds me of my old room mate!nHe always kept chatting about this. I will forw
  • Ananomous: It's lovely.
  • Justin Anonymous.: I REALLY like this piece. It makes me think of SO much that goes on in another human being's mind, SO much that goes on in life. It makes me feel..